A little “pick-me-up”

I always have these ideas here and there about what I should write about next. I am always searching for a pen to jot down random thoughts, but the question still remains: What would really, truly be beneficial to recruit parents aside from what is happening during Week 3 or graduation info?

I don’t know why the idea has never come to me before now. But…

Building Blocks: Start with camaraderie

The Marine Corps is built on something I feel that other services don’t provide. Brotherhood. I have never been in another service, but I am friends with many people who belong to one.  We all serve for the same thing; the Marines just have a different way of doing it.

At some point in time, your Marine will probably work for someone who they don’t see eye-to-eye with. They may argue and maybe even fight, but when it comes down to the nitty-gritty there is nothing they wouldn’t do for each other. There will never be another place quite like this, where you can take two people who have absolutely nothing in common and turn them into life-long friends.

As tradition, the Marine Corps uses camaraderie on familiar soil and in a combat zone. Those who surround each other will become part of each other. The Marine to your left, is your left and the Marine to your right, is your right.

We are a different breed almost like a certain strand of encoded DNA. They have instilled us with discipline, pride and passion. The discipline to get it done right the first time, passion to be the best at everything we do and the pride to not throw our success in the faces of others. We will always be proud of what we have accomplished.

More than half-way through and looking back: Who will you remember?

I remember picking up your recruits from the airport. I was thinking to myself, “Man, they have no idea what they are about to experience.” Well, neither did I. I have watched boys begin to shape into men. I have seen them go from tripping over their own feet and falling over other recruits, to walking with with a strut and their heads held high. They don’t stumble across their words when speaking to the DIs anymore, and their demeaner proves to be prouder than ever that they have made it thus far.

What I see on the other side of the house is what has surprised me the most. The DIs have become protective over their recruits and truly care about the wellbeing and morale of the platoon. As they begin to familiarize themselves with each one on an individual level, they have created a mutual link of respect for one another.

I will never forget my “kill hat” (she was equivalent to a third hat, except she was the forth DI for our platoon). Her name was Sgt. Richardson back then. I remember thinking, “I will never be able to be like her, this woman is insane. How does she go and go and why does she hate me so much? The Marines might not be for me.” To think I am the same rank now that she was, I never would have thought I would come so far in the Marine Corps.

Now, I am at a recruit depot surrounded by DIs who will have the same impact on your recruit as my DIs have had on me. The recruits should be honored to share their work space with some of the best leaders around.

Marines do it for the nation, they do it for us all.

Ever wonder who trained me?

The picture below is a recruiting poster you may be familiar with. First Sgt. Smith is shown here demonstrating MCMAP. She was my “Drill Hat” (or the J) while I was in boot camp in July of 2005. And yes, she was mean as hell.
[Editors Note: Opinions expressed are not to be considered an official expression of the DoD, DoN, or the USMC.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by echo5fox. Bookmark the permalink.

About echo5fox

Sgt. Frasier enlisted in the Marine Corps July 2005 from Florida at the age of 18. After completing boot camp at Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island, she proceeded to Marine Combat Training in North Carolina. In 2006, she attended the Personnel Administration Course aboard Camp Johnson, N.C. She was stationed at Camp Lejeune upon graduation of her military occupational specialty. After deploying to Iraq with 3/10 in 2008, Sgt. Frasier reenlisted with the option to lateral move into another occupation, combat correspondent. Sgt. Frasier has worked at The Globe, the base newspaper aboard Camp Lejeune; The Convoy, the group circular for 1st Marine Logistics Group and The Chevron, the base paper for Marine Corps Recruit Depot San Diego. Sgt. Frasier served as the Community relations and Media noncommisioned officer in charge for the Public Affairs Office aboard the depot. Currently she is the Marketing and Public Affairs Director for Recruiting Station Chicago, 9th Marine Corps District. Her awards include the National Defense Service Ribbon, Global War on Terrorism, Good Conduct Medal (2), Iraqi Campaign Medal, Sea Service Deployment Ribbon, Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal (2) and the Navy Unit Commendation Medal.

17 thoughts on “A little “pick-me-up”

  1. I’ve always be proud of my son. I didn’t think it was possible to have the kind of pride I have for him now and his fellow Marines. I’m counting the day’s to graduation. When I will be able to hug him, see the man he has become. There will be lots of Tears that day:)

  2. This is a great poster! We got a copy when we where in San Diego for a friends Graduation. My son’s been in 2 years/San Diego and now my daughter graduates this Friday 10/21! I’m so truly excited! After 13 weeks, we received a phone call from my daughter today!! Wow!!! I’m on cloud 9 and so very proud!! Two in the Marines!! OohRah!!

  3. I like the title. It is truly a “Pick-me-up”. Thank you so much! I can tell in my son’s letters that he is a different person, one I am proud of. I was proud ofhim before but now it is just different. It isnt just a am mom and I will always love my child. One of my son has truly become a good person and has made a great decision. I do not have to worry about him. I know the Marines will take good care of him.

  4. Thank you Sgt Frasier…that was great to hear and your di looks mean as hell…LOL. you have no idea the difference you have made in my life. if i didn’t have this info from you or had met the people on face book, I’m sure I would be a hot mess right now!! Thank you for serving our country and documenting our recruits through their journey of becoming marines!!

  5. Sgt. Frasier..I have to say that you have a true way with words and this blog touched me deeply. The part about picking up the recruits from the airport made me cry. That was just a couple months ago though it feels like forever..though with your stores it sure is making the time go by so much quicker! Thank you again so much. .

  6. Thank you Thank you Thank you !!
    Your words are informative, and offer so much comfort to those of us who are supporting a recruit. I thought that I was prepared to send a second son thru bootcamp because I “knew” what he was going to go thru, I was so wrong ! But with your blog I have learned so much and I am prouder than ever to be the Parent of a US Marine (soon to be 2)!!! I would be honored to shake your hand at graduation and I really hope you will be there with all of us. My Daughter is so excited that she gets to see so many photos of her husband – comforts her everyday.
    The Rents of Minnesota

  7. Thanks for all the post, photo and videos. You have kept so many of us glued to web awaiting photos and post from you of our young recruits. I hope the Corp lets you continue this for other familys. Looking forward to meeting you at graduation. You will never, never know how much the things you’ve done has helped all of us !!! YOU’RE THE BEST !!!

  8. personally i didn’t know what i was going to do with my son being gone his Dad and him were so close and my husband doesn’t get on the internet much I however am alot at least 3 times a week and more sometimes this blog your words and your work with our recruits have made my husband relized what his son is going thru and has helped my husband and I band together for our son. I have seen my son in a few pictures which really helps ease our minds that he is fine and doing well. without you where on earth would our stress level our worry levels be with you helping by not only telling us what is going on but pictures video;s our stress our worry is less cause we have the chance to see our son. words can’t express the way i feel about you and ALL you are doing to help us as parents wives sisters get thru this 13 weeks of missing our recruit thank you so much for all you do and I am so glad your able to do this you have been blessed with an abiltiy to help us all thanks again.

  9. My son does not graduate until 12/2, but it was great reading “A little pick-me-up”! I get so emotional just reading the posts, I can not even begin to imagine what it will be like when I finally get to see my son as a Marine…Thank you!!

  10. Your words are exactly what my son writes in every letter to us. It is hard work but he said it is all worth it and he has never sounded more like a man to me. Thank you for the posts and we are counting down the days until November 18th and we see our son become a Marine.

  11. Thank you for this entry. My son graduates on Nov. 18th. All the posts have been so helpful, but this one at this “home stretch” time was great. Brought tears of pride! Thank you for all you do for our boys (men)!!!

  12. Thank you Sgt Frasier. My son Kyle also graduates on Nov 18. He is in platoon 2150. I just found your site last week. I wish I had found it earlier but am very happy to have found Kyle in about 8 pics. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

